top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen Murray

💭How my cat taught me how to rest:

〰️As we approach the weekend, her is a wee blether about rest


The experience we have when we hear the word rest is often unique to us. Our relationship with rest can be varied based on our past and present circumstances. Layered into our unique experience is our culture around work. I often talk about how the expectations of working at the same pace all year round is in direct contrast to our nature as human beings. The current working system doesn’t leave space for natures ebs and flows. This often means that we need to create space to rest and recharge….


Similar to excitement, joy, love, sadness, anxiety, anger etc, Rest can be transferable.


A few years ago, rituals and routines guided my life. I resisted slowing down, stillness and being fully in the present moment. My mind was always on go mode, how I can improve my current situation, how can I develop, grow and learn as much I can to feel worthy and good enough.. this set me down a path of busyness with zero balance….


I was jumping between uni, studying, writing essays, working as a youth worker, working night shift, running a million miles a week, yogaing, time with loved ones, reading and anything I was drawn towards around biohacking the list goes on. As you can imagine this left zero time for balance or rest.


One of my biggest and most surprising teachers in slowing down has been my cat Scapa~ ps for all the dog lovers, I used to think I didn’t like cats, but wow has this changed..

.

Scapa has the slowest, luxurious, delicious (@florencegiven) approach to life.

He splits his day into cycles of lying upside down, eating, sleeping, self grooming~he is the cleanest wee guy, cuddling, watching birds, mad wee sprints/zoomies, more eating, yawning, drinking and repeat.


His need for love and cuddles as well as observing his relaxed nature has really relaxed my nervous system and my approach to slowing down.


What a gift Scapa has been alongside other beautiful changes in my life, allowing me to see the joy in slowing down. Creating wee moment throughout the day to go slower and let go of doing.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page